Important Dates

INMO : 15 January 2017 (12:00 - 4:00 PM)
INMO-TC : 3 January to 7 January 2017
Venue : ISI Kolkata for both INMO-TC and INMO.

  Pre-RMO and RMO 2016

Result of RMO 2016 (as published by HBCSE)
Pre-RMO and RMO 2016 are over. Please check back next year for Pre-RMO and RMO 2017.

  Prepare for the Tests

Prepare yourself for the tests by consulting the relevant Resources. Syllabus and relevant test formats are mentioned in the 2016 website.

  Contact Us

Send an email at to contact
the Regional Coordinator for West Bengal,
in case you have a query regarding the RMO.

  About RMO

First step towards the Olympiad

The Regional Mathematical Olympiad (RMO), preceded by the Pre-RMO test (at times), is the first step towards representing India at the global platform for 'mathletes', the International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO).

The RMO is a three-hour written test with six or seven problems. On the basis of the performance in RMO, a certain number of students from each region is selected for the Indian National Mathematical Olympiad (INMO), second step towards the International Olympiad.

Learn about the Olympiad


Prepare for the Mathematical Olympiad

There is no prescribed syllabus for the Mathematical Olympiads (RMO, INMO and IMO). Broadly speaking, students appearing at RMO must be well versed with mathematics taught upto Class X. The major areas are algebra, combinatorics, geometry and number theory. The syllabus does not include calculus and statistics.

The book -- An Excursion in Mathematics -- provides a good idea of the background needed for the Olympiads. The students should also check the old papers.

Resources for the Olympiad

  Hall of Fame

Star performances from West Bengal

  • Akashnil Dutta

    Akashnil Dutta

    Silver (2009), Silver (2010), Gold (2011)
  • Sucharit Sarkar

    Sucharit Sarkar

    Gold (2001), Silver (2002)
  • Debdyuti Banerjee

    Debdyuti Banerjee

    Bronze (2011), Gold (2012)

Source : Hall of Fame, India -- International Mathematical Olympiad

Our stars at the Olympiad