Call for Papers


Author Instructions

Advance Program


Executive Committee

Program Committee




6th International Workshop on Distributed Computing
(IWDC 2004)

27-30 December, 2004

Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata

Biographies of Tutorial Speakers

Prof. Biswanath Mukherjee

Biswanath Mukherjee received the B.Tech. (Hons) degree from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur (India) in 1980 and the Ph.D. degree from University of Washington, Seattle, in June 1987. At Washington, he held a GTE Teaching Fellowship and a General Electric Foundation Fellowship. In July 1987, he joined the University of California, Davis, where he has been Professor of Computer Science since July 1995, and served as Chairman of Computer Science during September 1997 to June 2000. He is a winner of the 2004 Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award at UC Davis. Two PhD Dissertations (by Laxman Sahasrabuddhe and Keyao Zhu), which were supervised by Professor Mukherjee, were winners of the 2000 and 2004 UC Davis College of Engineering Distinguished Dissertation Awards. He is co-winner of paper awards presented at the 1991 and the 1994 National Computer Security Conferences. He serves or has served on the editorial boards of the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, IEEE Network, ACM/Baltzer Wireless Information Networks (WINET), Journal of High-Speed Networks, Photonic Network Communications, and Optical Network Magazine.  He also served as Editor-at-Large for optical networking and communications for the IEEE Communications Society. He served as the Technical Program Chair of the IEEE INFOCOM '96 conference. He also serves as Chairman of the IEEE Communication Society's Optical Networking Technical Committee (ONTC). He is author of the textbook "Optical Communication Networks" published by McGraw-Hill in 1997, a book which received the Association of American Publishers, Inc.'s 1997 Honorable Mention in Computer Science. He is a Member of the Board of Directors of IPLocks, Inc., a Silicon Valley startup company. He has consulted for and served on the Technical Advisory Board of a number of startup companies in optical networking. His research interests include lightwave networks, network security, and wireless networks.

Dr. Archan Misra

Archan Misra is a Research Staff Member with the Pervasive Security and Networking Department at the IBM TJ Watson Research Center, Hawthorne, NY. His current research efforts are related to infrastructure middleware for Internet-scale distributed pervasive computing, information-theoretic mobility management in smart wireless environments, and MAC protocols for wireless mesh networks. Prior to joining IBM in 2001, Archan spent 3 1/2 years at Telcordia Technologies (formerly called Bellcore), working on all-IP cellular networks and Internet QoS. He serves on the technical program committee of several conferences and was a co-author on papers that received the Best Paper awards in ACM WOWMOM 2002 and IEEE MILCOM 2001. Archan received his Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Maryland at College Park in May, 2000, and his B.Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering from IIT Kharagpur, India in July 1993. Archan is the current Untethered Network Technologies chair of the IEEE Computer Society's Technical Committee on Computer Communications (TCCC).

Prof. Mohan Kumar

Mohan Kumar is an Associate Professor in Computer Science in Engineering at the University of Texas at Arlington. Mohan obtained his Ph.D and MTech degrees from the Indian Institute of Science in 1992 and 1985 respectively and the BE degree from the Bangalore University in 1982 During 1992-2000, he served as a faculty at the Department of Computer Science, Curtin University of Technology, Perth, Australia. His current research interests are in pervasive computing, wireless networks and mobility, active networks, mobile agents, and distributed computing. Recently, he has developed or co-developed algorithms for active-network based routing and multicasting in wireless networks and prefetching in mobile distributed computing. He is currently co-developing the community computing concept for pervasive computing in an NSF funded project. He is a PI in one and a co-PI in another NSF projects on pervasive computing. He has supervised or (co-)supervising PhD (past-6, current-6) theses in the areas of pervasive computing, caching/prefetching, active networks, wireless networks and mobility, and scheduling in distributed systems. Kumar has published over 100 refereed articles in journals and conference proceedings. Kumar is a senior member of the IEEE, he is one of the cofounders of the IEEE International Conference on Pervasive Computing (PerCom), served as the Program Chair for PerCom 2003 and is the General Chair for PerCom 2005. He is on the editorial board of The Computer Journal and has guest (or co-guest) edited several special issues of leading international journals.

Dr. Jiannong Cao

Dr. Jiannong Cao is the director of the Internet and Mobile Computing Lab in the Computing Department at Hong Kong Polytechnic University. He has worked intensively in the fields of networking and distributed computing, mainly on the design and evaluation of high-performance network and distributed algorithms/protocols, and development of software tools for programming and evaluating distributed systems. He has published over 120 papers in referred international journals and conference proceedings in the above areas. Dr. Cao's current research interests have focused on mobile computing and mobile agents. In the past several years, he has successively obtained research grants from the Hong Kong government on projects covering various aspects of mobile and wireless computing, including cooperating mobile agents as an aid to develop algorithms for distributed systems, fault tolerant mobile agent systems, mobile group communications, mobile computing middleware, reliable wireless sensor networks, and location-aware information retrieval.

Dr. Cao is a vice chairman and member of the Computer Architecture Professional Committee, China Computer Federation. He is a member of the IEEE Computer Society, the IEEE Communication Society, IEEE, and ACM. He is also a member of the IEEE Technical Committee on Distributed Processing, IEEE Technical Committee on Parallel Processing, IEEE Technical Committee on Fault Tolerant Computing. Dr. Cao has served as a member of editorial boards of several international journals, a reviewer for international journals / conference proceedings, and also as an organizing / program committee member for many international conferences.