Fulbright-Nehru Academic and Professional Excellence Fellowship (Flex Award), 2018- 2020.

INAE Chair Professor, 2018-2019.

IEEE CIS Distinguished Lecturer for 2014-2016.

Fellow of IEEE in 2012.

Fellow of IAPR in 2017.

Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering in 2007.

Fellow of The National Academy of Sciences Allahabad, India in 2008.

Recipient of Outstanding Paper Award from IEEE Neural Networks Council, USA in 1994.

Recipient of University Gold Medal from University of Calcutta, for standing first in order of merit in M. Tech. Computer Science, in 1988.

Recipient of CIMPA-INRIA-UNESCO fellowship from International Centre for Pure and Applied Mathematics, France in 1996.

Recipient of DAAD Fellowship from German Academic Exchange Service to work in Aachen Institute of Technology RWTH Aachen, and European Laboratory of Intelligent Techniques Engineering, Aachen, Germany as a Visiting Researcher during 1992 to 1994.

Recipient of National Talent Search Scholarship from National Council of Educational Research & Training (NCERT), India during 1978 to 1983.