About the Unit
Activities of the Unit
Recent Publications
Awards and Distinctions
Conferences and Workshops Organized
Departmental Faculty and Research Staff
Contact Us
ISI Home Page

Awards & Distinctions

Prof. B.B. Chaudhuri has been elected Fellow of several organizations like the International Association of Pattern Recognition, Indian National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Electronic and Telecommunication Engineers etc. He was the recipient of the prestigious Vikram Sarabhai Award in 1995 and the Achuta Menon Award in 1996. He has been on the editorial boards of journals like Pattern Recognition, Pattern Recognition Letters and Vivek.
     Among the younger members of the Unit, Ujjwal Bhattacharya received the Young Scientist Award by the Indian Science Congress in 1995. Umapada Pal received the Student Best Paper Award from the Computer Society of India in 1995. Sarbani Palit and Umapada Pal received Merit Certificates for their presentations at the Indian Science Congress in 1995 and 1997, respectively. Mandar Mitra was awarded the Best Student Paper Award at the 19th International ACM SIGIR Conference on R & D in Information Retrieval. It is also worth mentioning that Mr. Anil K. Chand has been elected member of the executive committee of the Linguistic Society of India for the period 2000-2002.